Real Talk.

real-talk

Real talk. At this very moment, I hate being a woman. These lovely cramps that make their monthly debut feel like someone is carving out my insides. I mean, women shouldn’t be messed with. We can bleed for five days and not die. THAT takes real strength right there.

I use to take every pain killer known to man for my cramps since I started my period. I have had 24 mm cysts form on my ovaries and have to be surgically removed. I have had multiple cysts burst which caused the worst pain I have ever experienced in my life. I dread this week every month of the year. I have tried everything to regulate the pain. I got to the point where I couldn’t take the hard core narcotics anymore. I just started to deal with the pain every month and if that meant having to call off work or spend the day crying in bed from pain, then so be it.

Image result for pms cramps meme

When I first started oils I immediately looked up oils for menstrual cramps and severe PMS. (I literally felt like I was a raging bitch every month and anyone who crossed me was dead to me — seriously, I was horrible.) I found an oil by Young Living called Dragon Time. It’s suppose to help with PMS symptoms and your menstrual cycle. I was skeptical. Of course I was skeptical. I have tried every drug out there known to man to take these cramps away and you’re telling me a single oil could solve my problem?

dragontime

I did a little more research and found another oil blend called PanAway by Young Living. PanAway is what they like to call, “Pain Away”. It is suppose to help with any sort of pain. You just rub it wherever it hurts. Hmm…I could mix the PanAway and the Dragon Time and see if it works.

panaway

I waited for Aunt Flow to arrive and the cramps to kick in and started my experiment with my two new period cramp crusher oils. I counted three drops of each oil, mixed it with my coconut oil, and rubbed it around my abdomen and back where my cramps effect me the most. I laid down on the couch and put the heating pad on me and waited for the magic to happen. The first thirty minutes I had little relief and started to become a little agitated. I didn’t give up because I remember reading that I had to keep reapplying the oils every few hours for my body to begin to work with the oils.

After my second application I started to feel a cooling relief. Are you kidding me?! All of this time I was pumping my body with pain medicine and I could of just used essential oils for the relief?! That is just crazy talk. My mood swings during the week weren’t complete outbursts. I even asked my husband and though he was hesitant at first to answer he said he did notice a change in how I wasn’t snapping. I’m not saying I was the perfect wife and mother after applying the Dragon Time and PanAway, but I wasn’t biting everyone’s heads off for just looking at me. I call that a win in my book.

I’m not trying to sell you on anything, but I know what it’s like to look for alternative health care that doesn’t involve pills that make your body feel like crap. I wanted to find a more natural/organic way of dealing with this week of my life every month that I will never be able to escape.

Any other women out there struggling with similar issues? What do you do to deal with your death gripping cramps each month?

7 thoughts on “Real Talk.

  1. Love young living essential oils. Been using them on my boys for awhile now and can’t do without them. I’ve never tried them for my cramps though, and mine gets pretty severe. I always opt for high dose of Advil which usually does the trick fast. But I’ll try the oils on me next time, I have pan away, hopefully it will work its magic! Thanks for the tip 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to have debilitating cramps AND a cyst at some point. Two/three things have helped. I stopped birth control at the same time I reduced dairy. Not sure which one was more helpful. I have 95% eliminated dairy at this point which has helped more but I think I have an atypical allergy to dairy. Second when I had cysts I ate organic lemons. Whole. Peel and all. I’m really into homeopathy too so I’ll try anything natural as long as it’s not toooo crazy. LOL I’ll tell the friends I know who have bad cramps about the oils. Love my oils!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Huh. When I gave up real milk, I saw a huge difference in my cramp level. I used to lay in bed crying and now I’d say just about every other month I have pretty bad ones when I start and into the 2nd day…with the next month being not so terrible. I get an over-all can’t stand being in my own skin feeling that I know is hormonal that is worse than the actual cramps now. I’m a real charmer to be around. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

