Betting on Me

betting-on-me

Essential Oils Diffusing Today: Joy (fresh cotton linen scent), Frankincense (woodsy with a hint of sweetness), and Purification (fresh and citrus clean).

Over the past week I have had a number or emails, comments, and messages from followers. I wanted to say thank you, thank you for your kind words and encouragement this past week as I revamp my blog. Your support means the world to me 🙂

A year ago tomorrow, I began blogging. I began this journey into finding my voice and work through my feelings and emotions of becoming a stepmom. I was six years into the stepmama gig and I was getting to a point where I felt like I was all alone. No one understood what I was going through. No one understood the different emotions I was experiencing, but the worst part was, I didn’t even know how to explain it to anyone else. I couldn’t get out in words how I was feeling. So instead, I alienated the people around me.

I signed up for the A-to-Z Challenge. If you are not familiar with the challenge, it is a fairly simple concept. Every day in the month of April (except Sunday) equals a letter of the alphabet. The 1st is A the 2nd is B and so on. Each day you write a post that begins with the letter and goes with an overall topic you pick for the month. (example: Last year my topic was Being a Stepmama, for B I did, B is for Beach and wrote a post about how our family loves to go to the beach). I planned for this challenge. I had a specific notebook dedicated to the alphabet each day and my ideas for every letter. This opened up the door for me to express my true feelings and explore the emotions I was going through with little prompts to help me.

I realized that I had felt unappreciated. I felt like I was being taken for granted and most of all I felt like I was constantly walking on egg shells with the kid’s mom and nothing I was doing was good enough. These were all feelings I had put in a little box and locked away, but what I didn’t realize was that it was going to continue to eat away at me until I confronted all the issues. Little by little I began to stand up for myself. I would say “No” instead of always saying, “Yes.” — I read a quote that made me stop dead in my tracks and think long and hard about how I was viewing the world around me. “Worrying is literally betting against yourself.”

worrying.png

I mean, it really is isn’t it? You worry you aren’t good enough to get something done. You worry people will be judging you. You worry if things will ever seem to fall into place. I had to change my way of thinking. If I was constantly worrying, how was I even living? Like actually LIVING life and enjoying life. A little after all of this realization is when I began with essential oils and like I’ve said before, they have changed my life in more ways then I thought they would. I researched the oils that would help ME with MY issues. I found new ways to meditate and relax with using oils. I found oils such as Frankincense and Joy that have changed my entire mood around by just applying a single drop behind my ears and inhaling them cupped around my nose. I began to relax and let things go. I didn’t sweat the small stuff and you know what…no one died, everything was okay and the world didn’t fall apart just because I had to relinquish control.

crankypants

2 thoughts on “Betting on Me

    • I still consider myself a rookie at meditation but the oils have really helped with becoming Zen. Lavender, Frankincense, Eucalyptus, Clary Sage, Sandalwood, are all great oils for meditation! Either diffusing them or rubbing them on pressure points before beginning!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

