Hello, 2017! Bring on the Fresh Start!

hello2017

My dad asked me a couple of weeks ago, “Do you still blog? I haven’t had any email updates lately.” That statement kind of made me sad. It made me sad that I haven’t been blogging as much as I have wanted to, and even my dad had noticed. When you don’t have a lot of people in your daily life following your blog, you kind of think no one really notices that you aren’t writing a post every day. That is the wrong kind of thinking though. That is not why I started blogging. I started blogging as a form of therapy, venting outlet, and to help other stepmoms out there who might be struggling. Well, I am here to tell you Not the Average Mama is revamping its page and giving it a new year fresh start.

I started blogging a year ago and it was hands down one of the best decisions I have ever made. I loved connecting with fellow stepmoms and finding out that I am really not alone on the feelings that come with becoming a stepmom. I found my voice in this blogosphere and have enjoyed it every step of the way. But what went wrong? Well time is what went wrong. My time management was rocked the last half of the year and I’m still scrambling to find my balance. When your life is pretty much the same time wise for like, oh I don’t know, seven years, it’s kinda hard to kick the old habits and start to form new ones.

My goal for this year with Not the Average Mama is to dig deeper in my stepmama roll and get more into the nitty gritty. I can brag and brag all day about how awesome my family is, how much my kids love me, and how romantic my husband is, but that’s not the whole story. There’s more that needs to be said and I’m ready to take you on my journey I have been on the past seven years.

not-theaveragemama

I have started to refresh my site and get new graphics and icons in order. I noticed a lot of bloggers seem to do that at the beginning of the year and I think that is just a fabulous idea. It gives each blog a fresh start to a new year, a new look, a new do.

So take a look around. See the new social media links I have put up and give them a follow. I am ready to take on this new year with a new view and new content. Are you ready?!

cropped-cropped-blogheader.png

7 thoughts on “Hello, 2017! Bring on the Fresh Start!

  1. Hi there !
    I stumbled upon your blog about 6 months ago when I was doing research on blended families for my graduate class. The reasoning behind my choice of topic is because I’m currently in a relationship with a man who has a son and I have no children. I have been going through a real difficult time, to say the least. I admire and appreciate your perspective on being in this type of position and I would love to hear more of your struggles only because many do not want to acknowledge and mention that difficult times can arise from dating someone with children. I want to know I’m not the only one on this earth that is experiencing a tough time and I would love to hear how you’ve dealt with overcoming your difficult times and emotions.

    I myself am thinking about starting a blog as well, a way to vent.

    Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! Thank you so much, Olga! That means the world to me! I wrote down your ideas for some blog posts and I think they are just fabulous! I will be touching on those issues for sure!
      As for not being the only one with these feelings…you are not alone, WE are not alone!
      Starting a blog saved me from losing my mind with co parenting and releasing my frustrations and emotions in being a step parent!

      Like

Leave a Reply

