A DIY, Homemade, Kinda Week

a-diy-homemade-kinda-week

 

I’m curled up on the couch with my hot chocolate and watching The Santa Clause. This is exactly what I wanted to do this afternoon before work tonight. Hot chocolate, Christmas movies, and blogging. Christmas time is my favorite time of year. I LOVE Christmas. I love the meaning, the joy, and the quality time spent with family.

This past week I made a lot of homemade things! I made the kid’s teachers a Peppermint and Orange Sugar Scrub made with essential oils. They were a huge hit and SUPER easy to make. All I did to make three 8 oz jars of the sugar scrub was:

In a large glass bowl combine 2 Cups of Granulated Sugar with 25 drops of Orange essential oil and 15 drops of Peppermint essential oil. Mix the oils in the sugar

Next take 3/4 cup of Coconut Oil (melted) and 2 tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil and begin to pour it into the sugar and EO mixture. 

Blend the mixture and BAM — you have an amazing smelling sugar scrub! Easy as that! 

teacherpresents

We are spending Christmas Eve with my side of the family. The other day we told the kids we wouldn’t be going to Papa Grande and Marilyn’s house for Christmas Eve, but before we could get out that we were just moving houses and having it at Aunt Chrissy’s instead (Marilyn’s sister), James threw his hands up and says, “It wouldn’t be Christmas Eve if we didn’t spend it at Papa Grande’s like we ALWAYS do with ALL the FAMILY!!” — Calm down there buddy, not to worry, EVERYONE will be there.

Tuesday night I made this delicious White Chicken Chili. I doubled the recipe and substituted black beans for great northern beans. It was another HUGE hit with the kids and Matt. Whenever I make a dish that they love, it really makes me feel good. Hearing how awesome dinner is and how everyone wants me to make it again soon is just phenomenal. It always feels good to have a “win” in the dinner department.

whitechickenchili

I did things a little different with Christmas shopping this year. I bought most of EVERYTHING online, and I loved it! It was so easy and simple. I signed up for a free 30 day Amazon Prime account and got FREE 2 Day shipping on all of my orders. Not only did I stay under budget but I was able to get everything that I had on my Christmas list without modifying anything! The one thing I went to the store for was Jordan’s gift. A few years ago I gave her two of my old American Girl dolls. They aren’t in the BEST shape, but they worked for the time being. I wanted to wait until she was older and able to read the books before I bought her her very own AG doll. This year is the year and I was so excited and giddy walking into the AG store. Jo is going to freak out because I don’t think in a million years she would think we would get her an American Girl Doll for Christmas.

americangirldoll

The past few weeks have really started to look up and I have been able to really get into the Christmas spirit. I look forward to my Christmas Tradition post I am writing for later this week! Stay tuned 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

