And It’s Only Wednesday…

to-the-best-teacher-weve-ever-had

What a WEEK. I’m telling you, my life has been in a whirlwind the past month. I actually don’t even know where the month of November went. One second it was Halloween, the next thing you know I’m having the kids write out their Christmas lists.

I know I haven’t been blogging as much lately, but to be honest, I haven’t had the time. Since Matt opened up World of Beer, our lives have been flipped and turned upside down. He needed help in his store with all the financials and asked me if I would be his person to take care of it all. Of course I said yes! I actually love doing all of that kind of stuff. Invoices, writing checks (it’s so much more fun to write checks when the money isn’t coming out of YOUR bank account.), and pretty much being in charge of everything that goes on with any type of office work. I love the restaurant industry, it gives you an adrenaline rush and makes you think on your toes. So yes, I am enjoying this — but it does take me away from my blogging.

In other news, last Wednesday was the biggest bar night of the year. I’m assuming it’s because for the majority of people to deal with their families they need to drink first. I mean, can you blame them, especially after THIS election we just had. So, Stephanie had asked me if I wanted to grab a drink at World of Beer with her and Emily. In case you haven’t been keeping up, Stephanie is my stepkid’s mom, and Emily is a fellow blogger and also Stephanie’s boss (sorry Em, you are SO much more than just a boss, it’s just easier for me to describe it this way  😉 ). I was actually a little hesitant at first. I don’t mind hanging out with Stephanie. We sit together at baseball games and dance recitals, but this is a little different…alcohol will be involved…and it’s in my husband’s, her ex husband’s, tavern. So not only will I be there, but he will be there too. I thought, if she is comfortable enough to do this, then so am I!

And what a fun night it was! The three of us had a blast chatting and trying different beers. It wasn’t weird, or awkward, it was fun! In my book, this was another huge step for us. So for all of you who think it can’t be done, think again. We did it and no one died 😉 Maybe our daughter did a little bit, but that was just out of jealousy that she couldn’t join her moms.

Monday was our son’s birthday! He turned nine. NINE! I can’t even believe it myself. I feel like it was yesterday when I met him and he couldn’t even talk, couldn’t even say my name. To him, I was his “Ja” and now he is nine. A nine year old who walks, talks, and acts like a miniature version of his father. It just blows my mind and I had emotional tears all day. He asked me a few times last week if I would take him out for lunch for his birthday, even though he is in school. I told him I would think about it. Well, Monday came and I thought, you know what, I never do ANYTHING spontaneous with this boy and I know if I pull him out of school for half the day, it will just BLOW his mind. So I let him play hooky for half the day and we went out to lunch and saw the movie “Trolls”. (which was fabulous by the way, I loved it!) I can’t tell you how many times he told me “I love you mom, thank you for today!” — That alone verified that it was totally worth skipping half a day of school.

jamesbday
Cookies my mom had made for him for James’ birthday!

Now on to Tuesday. TUESDAY had me on my toes this week. The power went out at World of Beer, which made the hubby and I show up there on our day off for all hands on deck. I fixed the computers, everything was up and running, so I sat at the bar to have a beer since we had an hour to kill before the kids were out of school. Oh, come on, you know it couldn’t have been THAT easy. The second I sat down my phone rang and it was the kid’s school. “We have Jordan here in the office. Her lip is split from running into a pole and she thinks her teeth are broken.” — Wait a minute, SHE thinks her teeth are broken or her teeth are broken? — “Well, I don’t know what they looked like before, so I don’t know.” Good thing we were five minutes away! I ran into the school with Matt trailing behind me and saw her just shaking and crying. “My teeth are gone!” is all she kept repeating and sure as shit, they were chipped into little vampire fangs. I asked her what happened and she told me she wasn’t paying attention and “bumped” into a pole on the playground during recess. What I WANTED to say was, “Girl, you didn’t BUMP into that pole, you ran full force like a drunk white girl and knocked your two front teeth out, don’t sugar coat it.” but that wasn’t going to make anything better, so I kept that to myself. LOL

We rushed her to her dentist and let me tell you guys — this place was AMAZING. I’m so thankful Stephanie found such an amazing dentist office who takes such great care of their patients. We were in and out in two hours with her teeth fixed! Jordan was so brave and she stuck it out, needles and all. She asked me to stay with her and hold her hand, which of course I did, but she was way stronger than I would have been. We are very proud of our girl! I told her I knew exactly what to put on her Christmas list. “All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth.” Gotta find the humor in it!

That about sums up the past week. Crazy, right? Bear with me as I try and make organization out of all of this craziness!

