#ProudWifeMoment

happy

My husband and I both work in the restaurant industry. I think it plays a huge part into why our marriage is so solid. We both understand each other’s work schedules and what working in the industry demands from you. We don’t argue about how much longer do I have to be at work or if he will be home from dinner. We just know some nights I might be home later and other nights he might miss dinner when it’s being served, and that’s OK.

Now my husband is opening up a new store, his store. He is working 12-14 hour days and when he gets home he collapses on the couch and never once complains, because I know, that HE knows in the end, all this hard work will pay off. This is what he lives for, the adrenaline rush of excitement of what this new restaurant will bring. He’s great at his job, he makes the people around him feel like they are important and they matter. He has worked so hard to get where he is today and I’m so proud of him.

wob

Every Monday through Wednesday morning he gets up with the kids. I know I’ve said I’m not a morning person, and I’m not, but even when they were 18 months and 2 years old, I would get up with them every morning. I didn’t complain and ended up adjusting to early mornings for years. Then I started realizing that Matt and the kids could have that time in the morning together without me there. That could be his one on one time with them and get their day started off with giggles and Daddy time. It didn’t mean I’m not important or that I just wanted to sleep in, but with our crazy and different work schedules, I know what it’s like to want to just spend some time with your dad. 🙂 So every morning they are here, Matt is up with them getting them ready for school, while he also gets ready for work, drops them off at school then starts his 12 hour work day. Without. One. Complaint. EVER. When I pick the kids up from school, they are still laughing about the car ride games and fun they had with dad earlier that morning.

I guess this Monday post is turning into a brag fest about my husband, and you know what, I don’t care. I’m so proud of him. Proud of how hard he works. Proud of how no matter how crazy his work schedule gets, he never lets that interfere with his time with the kids. At his new store they are starting their training for all of the new staff (about 100 people) this week, but he’s chaperoning James’s field trip for the Henry Ford Museum this Wednesday because James said he wanted him to be there. That is the kind of man I married and I must say, the kids and I got pretty damn lucky! So yeah, I think this is a TOTAL #PROUDWIFEMOMENT

timehop

5 thoughts on “#ProudWifeMoment

Leave a Reply

