It’s a New Week

NewWeek

Happy Monday! It’s been a minute since I blogged. I have had a very crazy couple of weeks. Matt left for Florida this past Wednesday and is gone until next Tuesday. I got really sick Wednesday night and it’s still lingering around today. I thought it was just allergies, but this cough is literally knocking the wind out of me.

The first time my husband left for Florida I was at my mom’s house the majority of the time, so it didn’t really feel like he was gone that long. Now I am sick, have extreme PMS and cramps, and I have a list of things I need to get done before the end of the day today.

The kids had their first week of school last week. The first full day didn’t go as planned for James as he wanted it to. Let’s just say he got in an altercation with a kid on the playground on the first recess on the first full day of school. Their mother got a phone call from the principal and then called me after and told me about it. Boys and their taunting. I still just don’t get it. James beat himself up about it enough that none of us parents really needed to give him a stern yelling. Plus…these kids have been through a lot too this month. Sometimes we forget to stop and think that the things that are going on in our lives, effect them too. Doesn’t excuse his behavior but it makes you stop and talk to him on a different kind of level — a more concerned than angry level.

firstday

Earlier last week the kids were at their friends house and Jordan came home to get some water and told me that James broke their friend’s trampoline net. (This family is moving soon and we are buying their trampoline from them.) I asked her how it happened and she said “James pushed me into the net and the net snapped and it can’t be fixed.” I didn’t yell or get mad, but I said, “Did you guys apologize to Mrs. Harper?” and she said “No, but I will go do that now.” and she left the house.

Later when they came home I asked James why he pushed Jordan into the net. “I didn’t push her in the net! She pushed me! Jordan!!!! Why would you lie!?” He was so pissed at his sister, I knew he wasn’t lying. I told her to go to her room and wait for me there. I walked in and asked her why she lied to me about the net. She told me she wasn’t lying. Crocodile tears and all. I told her I didn’t believe her and she said she MAYBE pushed James. I told her that until the truth came out of her mouth, her butt would be in the bedroom. SIX HOURS LATER she decided to tell the truth and told me she didn’t tell me the truth because she thought I was going to yell at her.

That made me laugh because from what they have both told me, I yell the least out of all the parents. I hate yelling — I have to be REALLY angry to yell. I told her, “I didn’t yell when you told me it was James. I asked you if you apologized. Did you apologize?” And her head went down. “Well. Get up. Put your shoes on. We are walking down there and apologizing.” She was very embarrassed and I was very angry at her for lying about EVERYTHING to me. The only truth out of her mouth was that the net snapped. The neighbors were totally cool about the net, probably because we are buying it from them anyways. (LOL) But when we got home I called Matt and told her he had to deal with her when he got home because I just couldn’t do it anymore.

Matt came home from work and informed her she will be grounded from playing with her friends and TV for two weeks, along with paying for half of what the new net is going to cost. She was devastated and Matt talked to their mother about it and she offered to keep the punishment going at her house as well. Just hearing the support from the other set of parents is very rewarding and makes us feel like a more united front. It doesn’t mean she has to follow the punishment with Jo, but just her offering to enforce it at their house made Matt and I feel a lot better.

Image result for it can only go up from here quotes

So last week was quite a week. Husband left, I’ve been sick, started my period (which means I’m not pregnant, that’s a whole other emotional battle), our son got sent to the principals office and our daughter lied to my face over and over again. I think it’s safe to say, this week can only go up from here.

6 thoughts on “It’s a New Week

  1. Uftdah! Sounds like you handled the lying pretty well. It seems like a pretty sweet deal that you can play more of the nice guy while the other parents lay down the law. Here’s to hoping she learns lying won’t get her anywhere at a young age. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This pic of the kids cracks me up every time! Also, I don’t think that you are always the nice guy, though I can imagine you are the nicest of us 4 🙂 LOL. Sorry to hear about the fact that you have been feeling so sick, having your period and doing the single mom thing all at once. At their core, our kids are great. They just make stupid, silly, crazy choices sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

