Throwback Thursday: School Edition

throwback

Throwback Thursday is here! I love combing through my old photos and reminiscing the memories that come with them. Thursdays are dedicated to just that!

First Day of School

1stday

The picture on the left is from two years ago when James was starting 2nd grade and Jordan was starting Kindergarten. The picture on the right is from last year when they were starting 3rd and 1st grade.

I can’t believe the first day of school is in five days! Looking back at these pictures of them makes me smile. Probably because who knows how much longer we have of these two being this close to each other with smiles on their faces long enough to take a picture. As you can tell the picture on the right says it all. His arms are pinned to his side and she’s all about the hug. This perfectly sums up their relationship.

Every year since James has started Kindergarten (preschool even I think) we have traditions we do as a family. It is something we all look forward to every year and I’m glad this year will be no different.

I remember both of these mornings so clearly. The day Jordan started Kindergarten I cried the entire way home. I had tears of joy. Our youngest, my little cuddle buddy the past two years since her brother started school, was off becoming a big girl and didn’t need my help one bit.

One of these mornings Jordan walked up to her classroom door and saw a little girl standing with her mom (petrified) and not in line. I looked over at Jordan and she was already walking over to the little girl. “Hi! I’m Jordan! Want to come stand in line with me? I really like your shoes!” A smile spread across the little girls face and she took Jordan’s hand and waited in line with her. Kids….us adults should take notes from the kindness that comes from children. So innocent and pure.

I’m excited for the new school year ahead for both of them! James is a 4th grader in a 4th/5th grade split class and Jordan is a sassy second grader with the same teacher her brother had two years before. I can’t wait to watch their minds expand and grow this year!

6 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: School Edition

  1. Hi,
    Your post made me remember when my girls were still little and in school.
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger! I was his featured blogger too!
    Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

