What a Morning…

our adventure begins

I mentioned on Monday that I found out that Matt has to go back to Florida for two weeks and he was leaving this morning. I’ve been going through a roller coaster of emotions the past 48 hours and I’m doing my best to keep a smile on my face around the kids.

Laying in bed this morning, I held on to his arms around me and squeezed him a little tighter and said a small prayer to myself. “Please, don’t let him leave.” — I’m just not ready to let him go yet. I was just getting use to his arms around me again after being gone for two weeks already.

We all got up, got ready, and headed out the door to take Matt to the airport. Usually the kids are bickering or playing a game, but this morning was different. It was a quite ride. We pulled up to the airport and the kids said their brave good byes and I got out and wrapped my arms around his neck. I couldn’t hold back the tears falling down my face and I began to sob. He looked me in the eyes and said, “We can do this. We are so much stronger than THIS. I love you more than you will ever know.” and kissed me.

The kid’s eyes were red and swollen from their tears when I got back in the car. I turned around and looked at them both and they told me they loved me and I told them we got this.

We all started our morning chores when we got home, then my phone rang. It was Matt.

“I’m not going to Florida anymore, I’m waiting for my bag, and I didn’t board the plane.”

Matt works in the restaurant industry and the store that he was going to in Florida failed an inspection (contractors fault) — so him going would be pointless now. No one could even go inside the restaurant until they passed.

SO my emotional roller coaster keeps on chugging along today. I have tears of joy, anxiety from all of the confusion and two extremely happy kids, because their Dad will be there on the first day of school.

I can’t help but think about that little prayer I said this morning though…

9 thoughts on “What a Morning…

  1. I know that so many people travel for work and what not, but my husband and i have only ever been apart one time for 5 days…in all of our marriage. I was tearing up reading this and when I got to the end I smiled so big! Happy for you Jess. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know and I felt horrible sitting here complaining about him being gone for 4 weeks total when some wives go months…years even, but 4 weeks to me is just the same as 4 years. Thanks Nikki 😊 I’m so happy he’s home but for who knows how long. They say he will go back next week and they say he won’t go at all — right now I will just soak up all the time I can with him, but that’s nothing out of the ordinary.

      Like

Leave a Reply

