My Heart Aches Today

My Heartaches Today

When scrolling through my Facebook feed yesterday I came across a post from a woman who I knew pretty well in my college years.

Back story really quick: The guy I dated and her now husband were roommates at Western Michigan University and we would hang out together on the weekends. They have been married for years now and have three gorgeous girls. Their youngest was born a preemie earlier this year and spent quite some time in the hospital, but she fought through and is a healthy gorgeous addition to their family.

Back to the Facebook post. She wrote about the out pour of love and prayers they have received from everyone about her husband. That they were going through a very hard time right now with the news of what happened to him. Come to find out he was hit by a car Tuesday night while out for a run. He sustained severe injuries and was rushed to the hospital, where he is still, in critical care.

This couple is a couple I have been envious of since I met them. The love they have for each other can be felt the second they walk into a room. He is a high school teacher and also a soccer coach in their hometown. She is an amazing mother and the two of them have built a beautiful life together, but Tuesday night their world stopped.

I couldn’t help but start crying. I couldn’t imagine what this woman must be feeling right now. I don’t even know what I would do. I haven’t stopped thinking about it since I came across the post. I haven’t stopped praying since I read her words. I am at a loss of words, as a wife and as a mother, I don’t even know where I would begin.

My heart aches from them. I don’t usually write about things like this but something just came over me and I had to write, but I just can’t seem to find the right words to say. If that makes any sense at all. At any time your life can change in the blink of an eye. At any moment your world could stop.

The past few months I have been really working on kindness in my life and the life around me. I think if I would of read those words months ago I would of felt angry at myself for holding on to so much pain of my past. That at any moment my world could really be crashing down and instead of being kind and living a life of happiness, I was too busy holding on to anger and hurt. But now, I don’t feel guilt, I feel heart ache for this family and all I can do is pray. I can pray and think positive thoughts.

They started a Go Fund Me Account and for the first time I donated to a cause and they have almost reached their goal in three hours! I am just amazed at the out pour of love and support for this family. Friends and family are truly a powerful gift to have.

 

4 thoughts on “My Heart Aches Today

Leave a Reply

