Feel Good Friday: Special Edition

Vacation on an island

Today I am going to do something a little different with my Feel Good Friday. I usually list five things that made me feel good this week, but today I am going to write about one thing that made me feel SO good that it took up the other four spots! 

This past week the kids and I went to Indiana to help my family out. The kids were everything I needed and more. They were helpful, kind, loving, funny and over all exactly how I knew they would be.

One evening I was talking to my mom about how I wanted to go to my grandpa’s grave. Jordan overheard me and asked if she could go too. (She never met her great grandpa) I hesitated at first and I think she could see it on my face that I was a bit concerned if she should go. “I want to say a prayer while I’m there.” she told me and I immediately said yes.

I did ask James if he wanted to go, but I think he was more interested in playing with his second cousins and I do not fault him for that.

Jordan and I pulled into the cemetery and walked up to my grandpa’s grave. We both knelt down and she folded her little seven year-old hands and began to pray.

“Thank you for all the love and support you gave my mom and thank you for every time she wanted to give up, you wouldn’t let her. In Jesus name we pray, Amen.”

girl_praying
Google Image

Tears are streaming down my face and she looks up to me with a huge smile on hers. “That was beautiful.” I told her and she just laughed and said, “Alright, it’s hot out here, let’s go home and make dinner!”

I don’t think she understands the deep impact that prayer had on me. I didn’t know that a prayer from my seven year-old (step) daughter would open my eyes to the bigger things going on around me. To her, that prayer was normal. It’s just what she does because it feels like the right thing to do in her heart. Jo is one of the most loving little girls I have ever met in my life. She loves everyone she meets. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard her say, “I just LOVE them so much and I want to tell them!” It’s who she is and I’m lucky to have that kind of love in my life every day.

This week I saw a deeper and more emotional side of Jordan. I watched her put her sassy drama queen pants away and become this tender heart, God loving child. It was a beautiful thing to witness and it is just another instance I get to say, “We must be doing something right.”

indianajo

3 thoughts on “Feel Good Friday: Special Edition

Leave a Reply

