Monday Morning Coffee: 8/8

La maison (1)

Monday is dedicated to a round up of my weekend and what the week ahead looks like! 

Well the day has finally come. I dropped Matt off at the airport at 5:30 am and I think it’s safe to say that I held it together in front of the kids. Last night they both mentioned to me how much they were going to miss Daddy while he was gone. I told them to think of it like Dad is just at work really late so he can’t see you tonight, but he always comes in and kisses you goodnight. That seemed to put a band aid on that for right now.

Last week I got a phone call from my mom and she needed my help down in Indiana as soon as I could get down there. I told her I would be there Monday after we dropped Matt off at the airport and stay until Thursday early morning. So. That is where we are headed this very minute. We dropped Matt off at the airport and are now headed down to my childhood town in Indiana. Just the kids and me. This is my first road trip with just the three of us and I’m actually really excited! They are fun road trip buddies, and this is just a four hour trip, nothing compared to our 20 hour + trip to Florida every year.

indiana

So this week we will be spending it at “Mommy Kim” and Larry’s house. Steph told the kids earlier this week that we would be making a spur of the moment road trip to visit Mommy Kim and Larry and when we picked them up today they were beaming with excitement to see them. The funny thing is, when the kids get back from Indiana they are going straight to Ohio to stay with their (step) dad’s parents for the weekend. It looks like it’s a (step) grandparent’s week for the kids!

Last week a few tips I had contributed to the Huffington Post for a Childless Stepmom article was published. It’s always exciting to get an email from someone who would love your input and tips, especially if it is the Huffington Post!

Hope everyone has a fabulous Monday! Here is a little quote that I hope puts at least a little smile on your face.

morning

6 thoughts on “Monday Morning Coffee: 8/8

Leave a Reply

