Throwback Thursday: The Letter to the Tooth Fairy

throwback

Throwback Thursday is dedicated to posts I have written in the past or maybe a picture of something from awhile back with a story attached to it! 

The Letter to the Tooth Fairy

Over the past couple years the kid’s teeth have been falling out like crazy. Seriously, for awhile it felt like every other day at least ONE of them was losing a tooth. And it wasn’t like they were falling out at home, they were losing them at school. I have a nice little collection of those plastic tooth holders they send kids home with now a days. Anyways, one day Jordan comes galloping out of school with a smile plastered from ear to ear with an extra hole missing in her mouth. “Ahh..another tooth bites the dust huh?” — Without skipping a beat she told me all about how it fell out and yada yada. “Well, looks like the Tooth Fairy will be making a stop at our house tonight!” As I’m saying this I’m digging through my purse to make sure I had a dollar handy, and I do, score.

We get home and the kids get their folders out and Jordan hands me the plastic tooth holder from her backpack. “Here it is!” she said to me with another one of her big smiles. I opened up the container — and there wasn’t a tooth in there. She began to panic. “If I don’t have a tooth for the Tooth Fairy how will she know to stop here tonight?!” I told her to calm down and to retrace her steps and double check her backpack. After doing all of those things and still no tooth she sat on the couch with disappointment for a few minutes then got up and went to her room.

I felt horrible for her, but what was I going to say? “Hold on Jo, I have a few spare baby teeth you could maybe reuse with tooth holders to go with? And no I’m not the Tooth Fairy?!” — As I’m finishing up dinner Jordan walked into the kitchen and said, “Mom, I figured out what to do about the Tooth Fairy.” and she handed me this letter:

tooth

Now, I don’t know about you, but I was impressed. This clever little six year old (at the time) came up with a solution to her problem all on her own, but none the less, it was hilarious to read. “but can I please still have something” — at least she didn’t say “can I have some money still?” AND she said please. How could the Tooth Fairy turn that down?

The next morning she woke up, came running out of her room, waving the dollar in her hand shouting, “IT WORKED!”

Moral of the story: When it doubt, write the Tooth Fairy a letter and make sure you use your manners.

5 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: The Letter to the Tooth Fairy

  1. LOL. Love this. My sister had just come home from the hospital after having surgery when her son lost his tooth. All she had was a $20 bill. She left it for him. He was ecstatic the next morning and my niece was so upset and crying saying that the tooth fairy loves William more than her. It was hilarious. I told my sister, “Please keep $5.00 bills in the house.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • There have been times when I didn’t have any dollars but I have loose change that added up to a dollar LOL who doesn’t love a collection on dimes and nickels under their bed? But $20?! There’s no way I would of given the kids that LOL the other tooth fairy I work with would of killed me 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know right? I actually forgot one night because I was sick and when Munch lost that tooth and woke up and there was no money, I told him that the tooth fairy probably didn’t see it. I told him to put it under his pillow in a baggy and we would do it again. I remembered to take my meds after he fell asleep and put 4 quarters under his pillow. I’m the queen of coins. He likes coins anyway.

        Liked by 1 person

      • When kids are young they don’t understand the worth of money so four quarters looks WAY better than that green crusty dollar LOL come to think of it, in the tooth fairy business there has been quite an inflation since I was a little girl losing teeth. I was happy to get 50 cents instead of just a quarter!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

