Sunday Morning Sunshine

sundaymorning

At 8 AM this morning, I was up and alert, ready to start my day. THAT is a statement you will rarely hear me say with a smile on my face, but today was one of those rare days. I am NOT a morning person, at all. Not even a little bit, not even for just a few days a week. I just plain and simple HATE the early morning, and to me that means anything before 10 AM.

People assume because I’m a mom and have kids that I am a morning person. Like some fairy magic was sprinkled over me the day I became a mom and I was all of a sudden a cheery bubbly morning person. Well, unfortunately that’s not how it works and I’m still miserable every time I have to get up early.

There is ONE huge reason I have hated waking up early most of my entire adult life and that is because I have severe acid reflux. I wake up every morning in pain. I have tried sleeping in different positions, different kinds of pillows at different angles, not eating certain foods, drinking tons of water, not as much wine (that was a heart breaker for me), not eating late and tons of different anti-acid pills –but low and behold I’m still miserable.

I use to LOVE drinking coffee in the morning. Coffee is what got me through my early mornings with an 18 month, 2 year old and a husband who only would get 3-4 hours of sleep a night. The acid in the coffee began to make the mornings even worse so I cut that out as well because it just wasn’t worth the pain anymore.

But this morning here I am. I woke up at 8 AM with no pain or oncoming acid reflux. I woke up to a quiet house, with the summer sun shining through the curtains. I made a cup of coffee and sat here on the couch. For the first time in years I am enjoying a lovely Sunday morning with a cup of coffee. Acid reflux, you did not win today!

I’ve been working on ideas for my blog the last few weeks. My favorite month of blogging was in April for the A-to-Z Challenge, I enjoyed knowing what I was going to write about each day of the week. I have been playing around with different daily prompt ideas for the week and I think I have them all set.

Now I’m off to get things all set up for our day of friends, family, bbq, pool and fireworks!

8 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Sunshine

  1. I’m a mom to 3 and I’m definitely not a morning person either! 😄 The acid reflux doesn’t sound fun at all! 😞 And I’m excited to see what new blogging ideas you create!

    Like

Leave a Reply

