Blogger Recognition Award

07 - 10 - 2014

Earlier this week I came across an award my blogger friend Sandra from A Mommas View was nominated for. Sandra has an inspiring blog and opens it up to give a platform to other bloggers to share their stories. I enjoy reading her blog posts and if you haven’t checked her out yet you’re missing out!

I decided to take on this award, it gave me a chance to sit back and reflect on my journey thus far in the blogging world.

The rules are not complicated:

  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Thank the person that nominated you
  • Briefly describe your journey as a blogger
  • Give advice to other bloggers
  • Nominated deserving ones

bloggerrecog

I began blogging in January 2016. I wanted to blog about my experiences as a step mom, and not just any step mom, but a step mom without biological children of my own. To some of you, you might think what’s the difference being a step mom and a childless step mom? Well, in all honesty is feels quite different. I didn’t give birth to any children, but I raise them as my own.  It has been a lot of trial and error. A lot of hard lessons learned and a lot of biting my tongue. I went in head first anyways. I dove right into parenting and didn’t once look back.

Everyone’s journey is different and when I began blogging I was able to read and connect with a lot of other step moms. I was able to communicate and talk with step moms who were in the same boat as me. I was able to finally see that I wasn’t crazy after all, that a lot of step moms go through the same things I have been through. There were stories I read that brought me to tears. Stories that made my heart ache for biological mothers and step mothers. I realized those stories were situations I never want to have to be in. Situations I never want to put my children in. I began to heal more from the hurt that was between my step kids mom and I. I wanted to better our relationship and not be another bitter blended family statistic.

Low and behold I stumbled across my kid’s mom’s blog page. Stephanie was a blogger too and we were in the same blogging circle on WordPress. What are the chances? What are the ODDS that would happen!? It couldn’t have been written any better. This is something for the movies. Stephanie and I began to open up to each other. We began working more together and talking out our issues. We were able to see each other in a different light and I am grateful for that. Our family is grateful for that and I couldn’t be more proud of us!

I didn’t start blogging for the followers, the views or any of the stats for that matter. I began blogging for ME. It is my therapy. It is where I can let out all of my frustrations then move on from it. What’s done is done and it’s on to the next thing. That is a huge step for me!

My advice for fellow bloggers is to be yourself. You don’t have to blog every day and you don’t have to blog about a certain topic. Blog about whatever makes you happy in that moment, after all that is why we write in the first place. We write because it makes us happy. Don’t ever lose sight of that.

If you’ve made it this far consider yourself nominated for this award! This has been a nice way to sit back and reflect on my journey through blogging. I may still be a “baby” blogger, but I am enjoying the hell out of it!

community (1)

5 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

