Book Tag Fun

On Friday I came across Nikki’s Book Tag that she created. I loved reading her responses and I loved this idea of a book tag.

chick-lit-books

Here are the questions:

What are you reading now?

I just finished Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and now I’m starting on her sequel After You.

What’s the next one on your list?

I got a few books for Mother’s Day, so I’m making my way through them right now. Next on my list is What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty.

Do you prefer a Real Book or a Reader?

I prefer a real book. I’ve tried the whole reader thing and I’ve tried doing the books online from the library but it’s not the same. I love the smell of books, old or new. I’ve always been a big reader and it reminds me a lot of being a kid at the library during the summer.

Do you stop mid book if you don’t like it?

Yes. I try to get through the first couple chapters and if I can’t get hooked I will put it down and move on to the next one. If I’m reading for pleasure, why force myself to read something that isn’t enticing?

Do you have to finish a chapter before setting the book down?

Depends on what time I am reading. If it’s late at night and I’m reading in bed I have to finish the chapter so I can find my spot when I pick it up in the morning.

What’s the best series you’ve read?

When I was younger I started off reading just series. Every month I would get 3-4 Little Babysitters Club books and I was obsessed.In my teen years I read the entire Gossip Girl series before it became popular. Now I like reading certain authors, not just series.

What’s the first book you remember loving?

The Witches by Roald Dahl. I have probably read that book 50 times. It never gets old. The movie doesn’t do it justice in my eyes.

Ever been in a book club?

I was in one last summer and I really enjoyed it. One of my girlfriends organized it and we each would take turns picking a book and bringing wine when we had our monthly meeting.

Favorite book you read in school?

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou.

Least favorite book you actually stuck with?

The Jungle by Upton Sinclair — it literally made my skin crawl.

What book are you  glad you didn’t give up on?

Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult — I love Jodi Picoult books but it usually takes me a couple of chapters to get into it. By the end of this book I was sobbing. If you haven’t read this book, I highly recommend it!

Do you have a favorite genre?

I’m a sucker for chick-lit books. I’m all about the love stories, but they don’t always have to be happy endings.

What is the best book gift you’ve received?

When my husband got me the Me Before You and After You.

Is there a book you wish everyone would read?

Another Piece of my Heart by Jane Green. I love books that give you each characters point of view. This is a story of a blended family who struggles and how they survive each other’s different personalities.

What Author would you like to have a cup of coffee with?

Jane Green for sure! She seems down to earth and I would love to pick her brain about the stories she has written.

If you could visit a place in any book, where would it be?

I would love to travel like Elizabeth did in Eat Pray Love.

What’s your favorite reading spot?

On the beach under an umbrella — if that’s not feasible, then in bed next to my husband reading is my favorite spot.

What popular book are you not a fan of?

I just can’t seem to do Lord of the Rings.

What character from a book would you love to meet?

I’m gonna go with Christian Grey LOL

What is your favorite children’s book?

I Love You Stinky Face is a classic in our house. I loved reading that to the kids when they were little ♥

stinkyface

 

That was a lot of fun! What a lot of memories that came up while thinking about my answers. Especially the books I read when I was in school. I read a lot of books for my honors english classes and I think it would be a good idea to go back and re-read them. I think now I would have a different perspective on a lot of them.

I nominate anyone who would like to participate! I know a lot of us all read and I would love to see your answers. If you don’t want to make a post about it, feel free to copy and paste your answers in the comments section!

 

janegreen.jpg

 

30 thoughts on “Book Tag Fun

  1. Yay! We have a lot in common. I LOVED Me Before You and have not been able to bring myself to read After You yet. 😦
    LOVED Leaving time. Absolutely wonderful book.
    LOL @ who you would meet. 😉
    You’re going to really enjoy What Alice Forgot. I did!
    Since we seem to like the same books I will have to look for Another Piece of my Heart.

    If you haven’t already…you might look for
    ‘Can You Keep A Secret’ by Sophie Kinsella
    ‘Love, Rosie’ by Cecelia Ahern
    ‘Good in Bed’ by Jennifer Weiner

    Liked by 1 person

    • We totally have a lot in common!
      I had a feeling you would have read Leaving Time. It’s one of my top 5 favorite books!
      I recommend not just Another Piece of my Heart by Jane Green but Family Pictures too!
      I loved Can You Keep A Secret, I will look at those other two too! I enjoy Jennifer Weiner books!

      Have you read any Laine Moriarty books?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that you should lend me some of your books when you are done with them 😉 I will be doing this tag in the next day or too. I love books as well! My favorite childhood book is a Roald Dahl book too “Matilda” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My friend shared this post with me because I too love reading and have a blog about it and she challenged me to answer your questions too. I’ll post them on my blog soon. Love talking books. Thanks for the fun post 👍🏻

    Like

  4. What a great post. I love chick lit books as well, and Jane Green is right up the top of my list. She’s fantastic. I also love Lisa Jackson’s books, she combines romance with suspense, two of my favorite genres. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

