Kindness Challenge: Week 6

When going through life you come across different people who become your role models. Every person in my family has been a role model to me in my life at one time or another. I have learned so much from both sets of parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles. I wouldn’t be who I am today with out each one of them.

As I have grown older I have come across more difficult obstacles. The one that has been the largest hurdle is being a step mom. There are little children who need my guidance, support, and knowledge to help them through life. What I say or do will forever impact them. No pressure, right? I wasn’t sure what to do when they were throwing temper tantrums. I wasn’t sure if what I was doing was right. I wasn’t sure if I was ever going to be good at this. I needed to talk to someone about this, someone who I knew wouldn’t judge me or think I was a failure.

MIL1

I began talking more with Matt’s mom, my mother-in-law. She would sit and listen to me tell her about all of my worries and issues. She treated me as if I was her daughter and would even cry with me at times when I just felt too overwhelmed. There are times as a parent where you feel like you just aren’t hacking it. You feel you aren’t doing the very best you can do. My MIL has always been quick to remind me that I am doing a wonderful job and how thankful she is for me to be in her son and grandchildren’s lives. Every time we leave Florida, I leave with tears streaming down my face. I am so grateful for God putting my in-laws in my life. I am so thankful to be surrounded by so much love and kindness when we visit Matt’s family. My heart is literally bursting with excitement when we plan vacations with them. I am truly a lucky woman and I’m proud to call them all my family.

There is something about my MIL that always makes me happy when I am around her. She gives off this positive vibe that I am just drawn to. She’s one of a kind and I am thankful to have her apart of my life. To show me that life will deal us cards that we might not think we can handle, but to not just give up because it isn’t the best hand. Life is too short to be anything but kind. Forgive those who have wronged you, forget the things you cannot change, because there is a life out there waiting to be lived and no one can live your life but YOU.

7 thoughts on “Kindness Challenge: Week 6

Leave a Reply

