Reflection on Kindness Challenge: Week 4

Kindness begins from within. Once I accepted that, kindness around me began to be easier to recognize and it became more natural to act and react with kindness. Now I am focusing on showing kindness to others. Giving without expecting anything in return, which is something I love to do. The look on people’s faces is priceless and worth every second of my time.

I took a week and a half off work to stay with the kids and Noah (my step kid’s half brother – Stephanie and Paul’s son) while the two of them went on a five day vacation with some friends. I will write another post about our time together later!

kids

Matt’s parents will be in town starting this week to surprise the kids for Jordan’s dance recital and a couple of James’s baseball games. We’ve kept it a surprise from them, which is super hard for me to do. They didn’t know that they were staying longer at our house after Stephanie and Paul get home. They are really in for a treat this week!

I took Jordan to her dance rehearsal Friday. It was about a 45 minute drive with traffic and a three hour rehearsal. She was pretty upset when she walked out of school that day because she was missing out on her school’s annual end of the year Fun Fair. I had made a special stop at the gas station before picking her up and got her some sugary snacks and juice. This is quite a treat for her and made the tears disappear within minutes.

rehearsal

Tuesday, a friend got a flat tire on her way back from Ohio. She was about an hour and a half away from home and it was just after midnight. She had already been waiting a couple hours for the tow truck in the middle of no where. She said if it didn’t show up when it did she was going to call me because she knew if she needed someone to come get her, I would in a heartbeat. I didn’t get that phone call, but hearing her say she knew she could count on me, no matter what time, meant more to me than she knows. And she is 100% correct, I would of totally done it. That’s just who I am as a person and friend. If you need me, I’m there.

I wrote about how my mom said something that upset me earlier this week. It was still bothering me after work that day so when I stopped at Taco Bell I paid for the car’s bill behind me. I needed some sort of instant happiness. It was only like $4, but the feeling I got after made me forget the crappy feeling I had earlier. The cashier was in shock and said…”What if they had a $20 bill?” and I told him “Then I guess I would of handed you a 20 instead of a 5 dollar bill.” He replied to he has never seen anyone do that before and that made him feel like there was still hope for humanity.

payitforward

Wednesday, James had a baseball game. Everyone knew I wasn’t going to be able to make it to the game. It was pretty slow at work so I skated on out of there just in time to make it to his game! I surprised everyone – even Matt. It began raining during the game and Matt had grabbed our huge umbrella out of the car earlier. I stood behind Stephanie and her dad with it and covered the three of us the best that I could. I know they had their own they could of held, but I know they both just worked a long day and wanted to focus on watching James play – not hold an umbrella.

One night at work I was talking to one of my co workers about the Kindness Challenge I was participating in. I explained that this week was focusing on things such as random acts of kindness. She thought it was a great idea and sent me this picture of the sidewalk outside of her house. She thought it would be a great way to cheer someone up who is out for a walk and needed a little pick-me-up. I think she nailed it!

sidewalk

Giving kindness is one of the easiest tasks to do. You don’t have to spend money, you don’t have to go totally out of your way, you just have to respond and act with a kind heart. A smile to a stranger on the street can change their whole day around. Paying for the lady’s coffee behind you before work in the morning might cause a chain reaction of kindness. Children are watching us adults in our every day lives. We preach to them to be kind, be nice, and treat others how you want to be treated. It begins from within. It begins with me and then the contagiousness of kindness will spread like wild fire.

jessica1

7 thoughts on “Reflection on Kindness Challenge: Week 4

  1. I’m so glad to see your reflection! I had a handful of you on my mind. It’s hard to keep up with everyone but I make sure to read every reflection and there were several that I didn’t read so I was really happy to see this pingback 🙂

    Love, love, love how many great things happened this week! You started the post off with an insightful self-discovery that lead to so many wonderful things! I looooooove that you shared this with your coworker. I am so excited to see that you are really applying this to your life, this isn’t a “blog life” challenge this is a personal challenge and you are truly applying it to your life. I love the pictures she sent! That must have been such an amazing feeling! I’m excited looking at them! I can just imagine that putting a smile on the face of anyone that walks over it 🙂 Thank you so much for participating and for sharing about your week. I’m so happy for all of the great things going on for you. Wishing you lots of nice things to be thankful for in the week ahead! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

