Kindness Challenge: Reflection on Self-Kindness

I’m participating in the Kindness Challenge over at The Richness of a Simple Life. Niki is hosting this challenge and I’m so happy I came across it. This week we were asked to focus on self-kindness.

“You have to love yourself before others can love you.”

Self-kindness. So just being kind to myself, right? That should be an easy task to accomplish this week. Until I realized, I’m pretty damn hard on myself and when was the last time I did something for ME?

loveyourself

I started off the week very excited to start the challenge and focusing on self-kindness. Monday morning my husband’s alarm clock goes off at 6 AM and he is already in the shower. I still have another hour before I have to get up. I’m not a morning person, at all. Not even a little bit. I’ve TRIED for YEARS to work on it and I’m just not cut out for it. Normally, this situation would make me upset, but instead I got up as well and started my day early! I remember thinking “Be kind. Just breathe. Find the positive.” I ended up having a very productive morning. Cleaned the house, got the kids out the door for school, went grocery shopping, and got things set up for work for the week. So i decided to treat myself with my favorite guilty please, a McDonald’s coke.

week1

Mid-week I’m really starting to realize that I’m constantly putting everyone else’s needs before my own. When was the last time (besides my McDonald’s coke on Monday) I did something for ME? So, I decided to go big or go home this week.

On my way in to work, while thinking about how I was going to continue practicing self-kindness, I looked down at my odometer in my car and realized I was 120 miles until the mileage was up on my leased car. My lease isn’t up until September, and it’s May. I thought what the heck, I will call up to the dealership and see what they could do, if anything at all.

Turns out, I qualified for the early bird lease turn in, and I could come in any day this week for a new car. Yesterday and today was spent getting everything transferred over to get this new beauty!

newcar

Everything seemed to line up for me this week. Just by stopping and saying to myself, “What do I need.” If I hadn’t stopped myself from focusing on everyone else, I wouldn’t of noticed the miles on my car, I would of been thinking about dinner plans for Sunday. I would of paid a butt load of money to the dealership on going over my miles, and I wouldn’t be sitting here, proud of myself for remembering to take care of ME.

week1.2

19 thoughts on “Kindness Challenge: Reflection on Self-Kindness

  1. Oh my goodness! What a great week!! Look at all of the wonderful things that you noticed and that happened by just being more mindful of yourself! Keep being mindful of yourself as the challenge moves on! Thank you for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

      • It’s great that you’ve noticed that! It makes such a difference! I was skeptical about the power of positive thinking 3 years ago but my life has completely changed largely because of it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah that’s why I was inspired to write the before post prompt. I had the whole challenge mapped out and then not long before the start date, I thought wait!! Maybe people should document this like a before/after photo in words… I have a feeling there will be a lot of changes. Some subtle, some profound. Some that will come more quickly and easily and others over time with practice. It’s all beautiful!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the new car. Congrats!!! My hubby has been selling cars while waiting for the other company to hire him. He has said that leasing is the way to go! He said if you leased, drove off the lot and totaled it – you would get a new lease. But if purchased, drove off the lot and totaled – you have depreciation and the insurance would not give you the total amount you have loaned. Lease is the smarter choice!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Jessica,

    I am new to your blog and just catching up on all the kindness posts! Fun! You really took this one on this week. It’s inspiring! I am going to try and do more with it this next week. I realized that I had done a lot of nice things but not sure how many I did for myself? Glad I found your blog. Will be interested to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

