Y is for You Are Loved

Y

Three words I have always wanted the kids to know are, “You are loved”. Being shuffled between two houses most of their whole lives has been a routine for them. They are so lucky to have so many people who love and care about them.They didn’t understand what was going on six years ago, but no matter what I know they knew they were loved.

They have two sets of parents, four sets of grandparents, siblings, aunts, uncles and cousins who love them to pieces. Every child deserves to know they are loved. Love is a powerful thing and feeling loved helps us get through our day. One of the first things a child learns, is to love. Kids have so much love to give, even when they are being little snots, they should know they are still loved.

Little Miss is pretty vocal about her love for everyone. She tells me at LEAST 100 times a day how much she loves me. I could be doing stuff for work, making dinner, blowing my nose, she tells me she loves me and I know she means it. Little Man has a huge heart. A huge yet gentle heart. He is the absolute best with surprise hugs and I-love-yous. We will be sitting at the dinner table and I will look at up him and he gives me a wink. A wink that no one else catches but me and it melts my heart. That’s his way, in that moment, to tell me he loves me. He’s going to be quite the ladies man when he gets older.

There are times when the kids get in trouble and we as parents get pretty pissed off at them. I know I have lost my cool too many times to count, but at the end of every discussion M and I have with them we tell them “You are loved. Even when you make us upset, you are loved.” I don’t think they ever really question if they are loved or not, but to make a point to remind them after some harsh words, always helps in my book.

Love is an amazing feeling. Love lifts us up when the world feels like it is bringing us down. There was a time I was pretty upset about something and Little Miss came up to me and wrapped her little arms around my waist and said, “You are loved, Jess.” I knew right then and there we must be doing something right! We are teaching them love and compassion, and they are nailing it right on the head!

So if you’re having a rough day today, remember you are loved. Smile and know that someone else loves you for who you are and that’s the best thing anyone could ask for!

“Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.”

Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young

7 thoughts on “Y is for You Are Loved

  1. Lovely you I need to say once more that these children are SO blessed to have you – special mummy you are. to know you are loved is the greatest feeling and to tell someone they are loved is the greatest gift we can bestow. I am certain that my daughters (now aged 20, 23, 25 and 29) are the super young women that they are because they absolutely emphatically and always have known and will know that they are loved. Blessings to you for a wonderful, love filled weekend 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

      • They go through a phase where they don’t get it at all – the trick is to keep saying it and out the other side they start spouting it to their friends and you can take a bow!
        Happiest of Happy Friday’s to you and all of you

        Like

  2. I’m feeling very down, alone & not loved today! I don’t usually let myself get this far down, I am mostly a positive person, sometimes we need to let the world know that we hurt (emotional)!
    Thank you, for writing on this, as sit here today, I needed to read these 3 big words “You are Loved”!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

