T is for Traditions

T

We have started a lot of family traditions over the past six years. My hubby and I decided early on that it was important to have these special traditions with the munchkins. I loved my family traditions growing up. When I think of my childhood, I miss our family traditions the most.

My mom is hands down the best about holidays. She started so many family traditions  with us growing up. Traditions that my brothers and I looked forward to the most during holidays or birthdays. Every Christmas my mom will make homemade cinnamon rolls from scratch. I have never had a cinnamon roll in my life that can compare to my mothers. Come to think of it, I’ve never asked her for the recipe. I think it’s because deep down I know I could never make them the way she does. It’s her special touch and the way she goes about the whole baking process that makes the cinnamon rolls even better. It is all done with love. Love is key to any successful family tradition.

Holidays are tricky in blended families. In most co-parenting situations, every year the parents alternate holidays and birthdays. At least that is the general rule in our state. I’m not going to lie, at first it was hard on my husband not to see the kids every year for their birthdays or holidays. As time went on, we realized they are just set days that the world decides to celebrate them. It doesn’t make it any less important if we celebrate on a different day.

We have been fortunate enough to have the munchkins four out of the last six Christmases. Every Christmas Eve, my side of the family hosts a huge family party. The kids look forward to it every year. For six hours they are showered with love, attention, and family traditions with Aunts, Uncles, Cousins, and Grandparents. We always have a White Elephant, Ornament Exchange, and a mean game of LRC (Left, Right, Center). Family time and traditions around Christmas will always have a special place in my heart.

Both of the munchkins are very particular about HOW they want their birthdays celebrated. They ALWAYS request a themed cake, made by me. I have made a Cars, Star Wars, Elmo, #5 with sprinkles, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle cake for them over the years. The birthday cake theme to them is more of a process to figure out then what they actually want for their birthday. They will draw out cake plans and designs they would like me to use. Let’s get one thing straight, I am not a professional cake baker and  I have no training or clue to what I am doing. I am straight up winging it, but for some reason they are mesmerized by the end result. It must be because they know it is made out of love.

The munchkins never really asked questions growing up as to why their holidays and birthdays are celebrated separately and sometimes on different days. When they did, we reminded them it’s not about presents and gifts. It’s about love and family, and they will always have both every day of the year, no matter whose house they are at.

What traditions do you and your family have? I would love to hear what the responses are from all of you amazing bloggers from around the world! 

11 thoughts on “T is for Traditions

  1. Your family traditions sound wonderful! We have our share too but my favourite is one of the Christmas traditions on my mother’s side of the family. We do re-gifting – the general idea is that you find something you have at home that you don’t want (something funny/crappy/silly/ugly etc – the more ridiculous the better), wrap it up and stick it under the tree (no labels or tags). When it comes to opening presents, one person will start by randomly picking something and opening it. The next person in line can either select a present to open or “steal” the one the person preceding them opened (forcing that person to pick again). It is always a source of much laughter – there is a giant Austrian wooden spoon that pops up every year. And a few years ago, my 80-something year old grandmother ended up with a copy of the Kamasutra 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s very similar to our White Elephant gift! For my bridal shower, we played a game called “Guess Who Bought This Gift” they were all off the wall gifts, but the last one I opened was a box full of lacy thongs. I turned 50 shades of red and said I didn’t know who bought it. My grandma shouted “I won! I knew she wouldn’t guess those thongs were from me!” I was mortified LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha!! Oh your grandma sounds hilarious. What a awesome game for a bridal shower too.
        I did pause when I read “lacy thongs” … being an Australian “thongs” are worn on your feet (as in flip-flops) Momentary confusion there lol 🙂

        Like

  2. My children are just the same. I have always made a Huge deal out of their bdays because there are so many kids I want them each to have their own special day. So it is a.huge process as to what theme they will.have, what kind of cake they will have, and we usually always rent a giant bounce house and cotton candy machine 🙂 then I usually do a treasure hunt to have them find their presents! I hope they carry the awesome bday tradition on to to their kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I grow up in a family where traditions have always been there and I am confident to say they are so important because they give stability and balance in a child’s life. I think Traditions help children became adults with their feet on the ground.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

