P is for Pregnancy

P

Pregnancy, something most girls and women try not to have before a certain age or marriage. Pregnancy is what I have avoided my entire life before marriage, and after we got married we had a .01% chance of getting pregnant. The irony, right?

The reason for the .01% chance is that my husband had a vasectomy after Little Miss was born. That was almost seven years ago. About three months ago he had a vasectomy reversal. This was something we have wanted to do for years and now it’s just a waiting game with when or if I will get pregnant. I mean, we went from a .01% chance to a 75% chance. That’s a HUGE difference, but we just have to wait and see.

I want to be a biological mother more than anything. I want to watch and feel a baby grow inside of me. I want to wear cute maternity clothes and take “bump” pictures galore. I want a gender reveal party and have adorable themed baby showers. I want to play those ridiculous baby games, and I totally don’t even care that I can’t have a sip of alcohol for nine months.

I want to hear a child call me “mommy” and I want to introduce myself as their mother and not their step mom. I’m not ashamed of being a step mom, but it’s not the same. The responses you get from parents aren’t the same. Everything is really different when you have a biological child verse having just step children.

I want to hear little footsteps running around the house again. I want to watch the munchkins hold their new baby brother or sister. I want to watch my husband hold our baby. I want a rocking chair so I can sing lullabies to him or her when they are fussy. I want to hear their first words and watch them try new foods for the first time. I want to be able to make parenting decisions with JUST my husband. I want to be able to parent and not worry about upsetting another household.  Most of all, I want to watch our amazing family grow.

I know there is no guarantee we will get pregnant, but we have a chance. Now we have a chance like every other married couple does. Our chances are 75%, and we will take that 75% over that crappy .01% any day of the week.

32 thoughts on “P is for Pregnancy

  1. So hoping that you get your wish. Motherhood is a beautiful, difficult, exceptional journey that changes you from the moment you see the positive pregnancy test.
    The honor of bearing life is worth every discomfort and every sleepless night. I will say a little prayer for you tonight. x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. And once again… We have something in common! The want… No, the need to be a mother! I know we’ll get it! It’s all about that positivity!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I think after parenting a child that calls you by your first name, we deserve the right to hear “mommy” as often as we want. We deserve it!

        75% are great odds, my mom was told she would never be pregnant by many doctors and has 2 very healthy kids ( pregnant 4 times). I’m suppose to have issues in that area as well, but I don’t think about it too much, I know we want that in the future and probably will try to start that dream in the next year or so.

        Liked by 2 people

      • I was told when I was younger I would never be able to have kids, but so much with technology has been done since then and now they say I shouldn’t have a problem. We are just going with the flow with our fingers crossed.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. I was in the same situation and my husband (at the time, many years ago), also had a vasectomy reversal. It took 3 long years of waiting and we gave up after trying so hard. I finally did get pregnant right as we were filling out adoption applications. It is a wonderful, wonderful experience, that is true. Just some friendly advice from someone who has been there: Try not to stress over it, don’t let the “babymaking” become automatic and a chore, and talk yourself out of the depression that hits with “Aunt Sally” comes to visit each month. I wish you the very best and hope you are blessed with your wish soon. Take care. Dawn

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh you will. You will experience all that you wish for. Nothing is impossible these days. I used to dream every night about being a mother. After five years when it didn’t happen (naturally) I took my chances and did IVF. And bam ended up with my twins. So never despair. Like you said there’s a 75% chance.
    You will be an amazing mom. You have the advantage of already bringing up young children. You won’t be clueless like I was LOL.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Love your positivity! Miss reading your posts. School and work has been absolutely killing me so slowly making it back to the blog world. DH surprised me by telling me he scheduled his reversal first week of June. Even though we have our ice babies ready to go, he wants to leave the option open for a miracle, though I think any baby is a miracle anyways. The unexpected is always a blessing though! I was told it takes months for things to get working again but confident you guys will find success sooner 🙂 all men should take note! Don’t make permanent decisions that will cost you later! Lol

    Like

    • How exciting! I don’t know how I missed your comment here, but I did 😦 I miss reading your posts as well! I was thinking about you a few weeks ago, wondering how everything is going. Glad to hear things are moving along! It does take months for things to start working, but I will take all the positive vibes I can get!

      Like

Leave a Reply

