L is for Letter

L

 

L wasn’t going to be for Letter. Then there was an incident I had this morning while dropping the kids off at school and I had this overwhelming feeling to write this letter.

 

To the Judgy Mom at my kid’s school,

I met you at kindergarten orientation almost two years ago. Your daughter was in Little Miss’s class at school and dance. I introduced myself and Little Miss told you who I was. Yet, on the first day of school you ignored me when I said hello to you. You made me feel invisible by addressing both of my step kids by name and saying nothing to me. After the kid’s told me she was one of their mommy’s friends, I understood what was going on now. You now think you know me. I’m the evil stepmother.

I am appalled by your childish behavior, especially coming from a 40 something year old woman. (Sorry, I’m not sure of your exact age, so I’m going to base it off of how old I think you look.)  I see you twice a day, three days a week. Every time our paths cross, you not only shout hello and you wave your hand in the munchkin’s faces, but you blatantly ignore my husband and I. Every. Single. Time. It’s not like you can’t see me. I am usually holding one or both of the kid’s hands. I’m not an idiot.

Do you know they both have asked me on separate occasions why you don’t say hello to me? Do you know THEY called YOU rude because of your actions? They see the way you are treating me and they don’t like it one bit. They have my back. You do not know our family dynamic or the love and support we have for each other. You do not know ALL of the things I do for these two kids that aren’t biologically mine. How dare you disrespect me like that.

Today when you waved in my step daughter’s face and said hello, she clung to my arm. She asked me, AGAIN, why you don’t say hi to me. The only thing I knew what to say was the truth, which is “I don’t know.”, because I really don’t anymore. You have obviously formed thoughts and opinions of who I am in your head. You most likely let someone else influence the way you think, what does that say about your character?

You know, you don’t have to be such a “mean girl”. I’m actually a very nice person, but if you continue to disrespect me in front of my kids again….you better hope you aren’t walking through the crosswalk when I’m pulling out of the school parking lot.

Sincerely,

Stepmama Bear

stepmom

This really happens to me on a daily basis. It’s sad, it’s pathetic, it’s part of being a stepmom. It is what it is. If you take anything away from this post, take this, step parents are just as important as any other family member. They are human beings with emotions and feelings just like you. Treat others how you want to be treated. It’s not just common sense but it’s called being a good person.

respect

7 thoughts on “L is for Letter

  1. God. Atleast “pretend” to be nice. I don’t understand some people. I really don’t. Even lets say she’s the bestfriend of the mom’s that not a way to treat people. What kind of role models are they setting for the kids? I’m so sorry that you have to go through this…I really am

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

