D is for Driving

D

If you haven’t already noticed, I am participating in April’s A-to-Z Challenge. So far, so good. The traffic on my site has sky rocketed and I can’t even begin to tell you how that makes me feel. I started this journey for me and I am happy that you are all following along side with me. 

Today D is for Driving. 

We, as a family, are constantly driving. The munchkins are with us for half of their school week, so that means we are driving them to and from school Monday through Wednesday. It is about a 25 minute drive to school and on the way home it takes a little bit longer because we hit some minor traffic. My husband usually takes the kids to school in the morning if he isn’t working bright and early. I will usually stay home and let them have that time with their father. Time for them to be silly and time for them to have some special bonding time with their daddy. They will usually go over that weeks spelling words, math facts, and talk about what is going on in their lives at that moment. I know my hubby loves that time with them, I can only imagine they feel the same way.

I am the one that is usually picking them up from school every day they are with us. If hubby is home that day, he will always come with me. After I swoop them up from school, I will always go over each of their days. Little Miss and Little Man know not to interrupt each other. They each get their 5-10 minutes to talk about their day, what they learned, and how much they loved their recess time. What kid doesn’t love recess? Sometimes there are issues they are having with friends at school and we will talk about it. If you ask either one of them “How do you solve and fix problems?” I am 99% sure they will answer with, “We communicate with each other. If we don’t communicate, we can’t solve the problem.” With a good 30 minute drive ahead of us, we usually can hash out the issues and have it resolved before we pull into our sub division.

Ever since they were little we will always have music on in the car. More likely then not, you will find country music playing in the background. Little Miss LOVES country music. I think it is safe to say she knows every word to every Florida Georgia Line song. I just can’t wait to take her to a concert when she is older. Music is her thing and music is also my thing. We love having the same “things”.  🙂  We will occasionally listen to Top 40 songs , Fleetwood Mac, The Eagles, or Steely Dan to switch up genres, but country music is usually the top pick. Little Man never complains when his sister is belting out words to every song. He will usually just sit there and listen, never singing. I never push him to sing. My middle brother was the exact same way growing up. Funny thing is, he is a professional opera singer now. LOL So who knows, Little Man might be the next Andrea Bocelli.

FGL.png

Driving with the munchkins isn’t always fun. It isn’t always rainbows and unicorns. The kids are 6 and 8, they are siblings, OF COURSE they are going to argue and fight in confined spaces. I have two younger brothers, I totally understand siblings bickering. But oh my god I would be lying if I said I don’t loose my shit sometimes. Especially if it is 7:45 in the morning and we are on our morning commute to school. I honestly do not understand how someone can look at someone else in such a way that causes World War III in the back seat of my SUV before 8 AM.

carides

I’m going to be brutally honest when I say I use to get very upset when I was making those drives every week to and from school. It is a pain in the ass to do, and there is no faster route to get to where I need to go, and when the weather is horrible, like when it decides to snow 10 inches the night before, UGH, THAT is frustrating. Let’s not forget the gas I spend and miles I put on my leased car. I wish hubby and I could walk them to school every day. I wish I didn’t have to spend most of our time together during the week in the car. It’s unfair to us. It’s unfair that I am the only parent who is home more then one day a week to pick up the kids, and by only parent, I mean their mother and step dad too. I wouldn’t say I am resentful, because I’m not, but there are times I have almost crossed over to that feeling. The only thing that has kept me going during those times are the thoughts of hubby and I having a child of our own, and how we will be able to walk him or her to school everyday. I know that may sound selfish, but after everything I have done for two children who aren’t biologically mine, I feel like I have a right to be selfish about that. I never voice these feelings and I don’t plan to, because it is what it is, and there’s nothing I can really do about it.

The irony in this post is we just got home from vacation….driving….for over 50 hours round trip. I was going to write a little about that, but I am going to save that for a different letter.

Life in a blended family isn’t always easy, there are things that upset me that don’t upset my hubby. Driving can be therapeutic for some people. It use to be that way for me, but now, I just don’t like it. So I am going to treasure the time I do have with the munchkins in the car, because sooner or later they won’t want to talk to me about their days at school, and when I ask what they learned, their response will most likely be “nothing”, and recess will be a memory of the past.

itiswhatitis

17 thoughts on “D is for Driving

  1. Being a chauffeur is undeniably one of the worst parts of modern parenting. My 8 year old son now attends a school within walking distance after going to a preschool that required me to drive in our city’s worst traffic. Something pretty drastic would have to happen to our school and lives to make me give that up again! Even now, I hate having to drive to rehearsals and piano practice and some such at rush hour. I hate how stressed I feel getting my kids in and out of the car (although I still have one car seat and that’s part of the stress.)

    That turned into a vent, but all I meant to say was, you are justified to have these feelings! I think you sound like a great step-mom for taking on the drive and still managing to cherish your time with them. I hope you will have the chance to experience walking to and from school with a child. It’s very different from the drive.

    Sara
    Empire for a Blueberry

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally get the frustration, Sara! See how easy that was to vent about? Haha I could of wrote for days about how I hate driving. Thank you for taking time to read my post 🙂 — one day, hopefully, I will get to experience walking my children to school. One can only hope.

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on driving and trying to enjoy what can be a necessary evil! Sometimes it’s fun for me, but usually when I’m not in a rush (although that’s rare lately). A reminder to us all to breathe and slow down… I nominated you for the Liebster Award. You can check out my recent post about it.

    Liked by 1 person

      • As often as he needs to. Right now we are in the process of moving and he has started his new job there so he says at his parents house during the week and comes home on weekends. But he used to drive there every other Friday, pick her up from school and drive home, then drive there on Sunday nights to spend the night at his parents to take her to school and then drive back here. Plus any additional time she would give him. Plus any doc appt days. It added up, hence the moving. We home to be moved in June.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s the plan. I don’t do well with change so it will be harder on me than anyone else but I know and believe in why we are doing it so I just try to remind myself of that.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

