B is for Beach

Bisfor

Clearly, I absolutely LOVE the beach. The beach is my happy place. Hearing the waves crash and watching the seagulls dive into the water is so tranquil.

The beach is where we as a family go every year for vacation. A few years ago the hubby and I started shell diving. Let me tell you, it was the most fun I had in years. I felt like a kid. Watching us, you would of probably thought we were kids. LOL We would be in our snorkels and goggles, diving back down for more treasures. The munchkins would just watch in awe up on the warm sand with their grandparents. Another really cool part that I almost forgot about, but Little Man just reminded me, is how there is ALWAYS a manatee in the water when we are shell diving. It is always swimming up next to hubby. It’s the most bizarre thing, but it happens every time we go to this certain beach.  Now that they are older and better swimmers, shell diving with manatees has become something they want to try with us.

sea-shells-1235586_960_720

One year at the beach Little Miss refused to let me reapply her sunblock. I called her over multiple times to put on more, but she would throw a fit every. single. time. I told her she would get very burnt and it would hurt. I told her she wouldn’t be comfortable the rest of the trip if she got burnt. I told her she would have to wear something that would cover her up in the sun the rest of vacation if she got burnt. She still refused, so I told her she can sit in the shade then. I got up and went to the bathroom and when I came back, guess who I saw playing out in the water. Yup, you guessed it, Little Miss. I was gone for maybe 10-15 minutes and she was already fried to a crisp. I was LIVID. We get back to where we were staying and everyone started taking showers. Oh was Little Miss not happy about the water touching her skin. She screamed and cried the entire time. It hurt. She looked at me and said “You were right, I should have listened to you, I’m sorry I didn’t listen. I will ALWAYS put on sun screen. I promise.” Let’s just say she NEVER forgets sun screen now. She will make sure SOMEONE reapplies it on her every 30 minutes. I guess we can say, that was a lesson learned on her part.
image

We have so many great memories from the beach. I love every single one of them. I am thankful and happy I get to make these special memories with my family at a place where I feel the most at peace.

19 thoughts on “B is for Beach

  1. Wow.. Very blue topic for the letter B. Beach. Who doesn’t love to spend time at beach looking at the waves?!
    And children doesn’t listen most of the time.. Haha.. They learn from mistakes only when they face it.

    Thanks. Have a great time.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the shell diving and the shells you collected are stunning. Had to giggle about the sunburn story, as I would be able to tell one of them myself… Ever since I apply sunscreen and I always listened to my mom (at least when it came to applying sunscreen…)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

