A is for Appreciation

Aisfor

 

When I first became a step mom, I had no idea what I was really getting myself into. I don’t think any woman really knows until they become one. I could give you a thousand examples of what it was like at the beginning when things were just EXPECTED out of me, and never asked. I am not a person who needs to be thanked for every single thing they do for someone else, but I am a person who feels if someone went above and beyond their expected duties, they deserve a little recognition, a little appreciation. Well, hate to break it to ya, but being a step mom is probably one of the top thankless jobs. (ugh, I hate calling it a job, but I couldn’t think of another term.) I’m not saying being a mother in general isn’t a thankless job at times, but you gave birth to your little ones, you have another kind of bond and appreciation for each other.

appreciation

As a step mom I have done just about anything and everything their mom has done for them….besides give birth to them. That’s right. I said it. I did not give birth to my two munchkins, but that doesn’t mean I’m not appreciated and loved by them. Every day I am with them, they tell me they love me. They wrap their little arms around my waist and tell me “Thank you for loving me like you do.” This is coming out of a 6 and 8 year old’s mouth. The appreciation they show me every day makes up for everything I went through in the beginning. All the diapers I changed, the hundreds of loads of laundry, it was all worth it. I can see in their eyes how much they love and appreciate me.

Don’t forget that hubby of mine! He is one amazing dude. The three of us are so lucky to have him in our lives. Since day one, he has always reminded me how much he appreciates what I do for us, and now for our family. He will be the first to admit he couldn’t do this on his own and we are a team. He appreciates me and I appreciate him. I am thankful to be able to walk through this crazy blended life with him!

wp-1458523991523.jpg

20 thoughts on “A is for Appreciation

  1. I have to agree it takes a special mom to be a step mom. I need to tell you something. My step daughter came to live with us one week after my first son was born. So, I had a newborn and an 8 year old with major issues. I did the best I could and I feel I did a lot! I got no thanks or anything for her dad or her. But, she is now 36 years old and hasn’t missed a mothers day since she was about 28. She has thanked me and keeps thanking me. She honors me though because she is a step mother too now. And she is handling it way better than I thought I did. But, she says she has me to thank as a role model of a mother! Wow, I am lucky. See, It does pay off someday! Even if you see them leading productive lives in society. Know that you had a part in that.

    Best Wishes,
    Annette

    My A2Z @ Annette’s Place | Follow Me On Twitter

    Liked by 1 person

      • I totally totally agree with you. And I will be honest. I don’t think I can ever love anyone as much as I love my own kids. I mean yes, I love my nephews and nieces to pieces, and I love my friends children as well. But there’s more depth when it comes to my own kids. As selfish as it sounds. And that’s why I tell you, it takes a special person to love someone else’s kids unconditionally ๐Ÿ™‚ and I’m sure you’re very very much appreciated…looking forward to tomorrow’s post ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful post.
    I was just explaining that unconditionally loving “someone else’s” baby is not for the weak of heart … that it takes a bigger stronger heart and some different internal strength … we are super moms, not step moms. โค

    Like

  3. What wonderful thoughts! I’m so glad that your family appreciates you, and you are able to know and feel that appreciation. It surely does make the job of any Mom much easier. Enjoyed your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi,
    1. I am a stepmother too.
    2. I agree with your quote. A person who is appreciated will always do more than what is expected.
    3. I met you at the Meet and Greet. You liked my comment. I wanted to come over and introduce myself.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

