Monday Night Dinner

Today I spent some time on my site moving some things around. I’m trying a new layout and added a few more widgets. I think I’m starting to get a hang of this blogging thing 🙂 Go check it out! I signed up for the A-Z Challenge for April. I’m pretty excited to do my first challenge, so stay tuned for that coming up!

I tried a new dinner dish tonight, I made a breakfast crock pot casserole. It was actually pretty tasty and BOTH of the kids ate it. Now THAT is an accomplishment right there. We have an extremely picky eater in our house. She has clearly made it known that she is a vegetarian at age 6. That’s just awesome. *insert eye roll* I mean, it’s not like it’s a bad thing that she is doesn’t want any meat, but it makes for World War III at dinner some nights. I’m not a short line cook. I will not cater to what each person in the house wants for dinner every night. I WILL ask for suggestions, ask for feed back on meals, have them help me make the meals, and occasionally let them pick what is for dinner, but I will not make separate meals.

CHEESY1

Little Man is someone I never have to worry about when it comes to eating my home cooking. He will gladly eat whatever I put in front of him. Little Miss on the other hand will give me a nasty look, play with her food, and go to the bathroom 100 times during the meal. Which will result her dinner time to last over an hour. She has honestly been like this since I met her at 18 months. At first it was frustrating. I hated when dinner time would roll around, because I knew here comes World War III. “Just 5 more bites please.” “How will you know if you like it if you won’t try it?” “Don’t you want to grow up and be strong like me and daddy?” Yeah….none of that would work. I got to point where if you didn’t want to eat your dinner, feel free to go to bed. Now THAT would work. Little Miss always wanted to cuddle with me or her daddy before bed, and she knew if she didn’t eat she would be missing out on that. So that little trick worked for a few years.

Girl-does-not-want-to-eat

Now that they are older, missing a meal isn’t the end of the world. They realize it is something they don’t want to do. They figured out waking up with a stomach ache isn’t fun. I always felt horrible sending them to bed without food, but if they didn’t realize the serious consequences then how would they learn?

dinner

Back to the dinner tonight, Little Miss ate every bite, I texted Hubby who is at work to tell him dinner was a hit.Then I looked over at Little Man and asked if everything was alright. His face turned pale, he ran to the bathroom and threw up his entire dinner. I swear, they never throw up when their dad is home, ONLY with me. I should feel honored right? They feel that comfortable to puke just with me. *insert another eye roll* Little Man seems to be okay now, he’s in the shower washing off his “icky feeling”. He doesn’t have a fever, and he said he feels better now. Just my luck because he has quite the week ahead of him. Maybe his nerves are getting to him and it made his stomach a little upset? Hmm, that could be it.

Well I got to get back to helping them out with their after dinner routine. A glass of wine sounds like a great reward for the day I’ve had!

Happy Monday Everyone!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Monday Night Dinner

  1. Although this was not fun for you to experience, it was a good read. I chuckled at the memories you stirred up. I can relate to the whole battle about dinner. Especially the: “Just 5 more bites please.” “How will you know if you like it if you won’t try it?” “Don’t you want to grow up and be strong like me and daddy?” My children are young so the memories are not too distant.
    and I agree, my kids would save the vomiting episodes for me as well.
    Good night. You ve earned the wine down period- so enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Too funny! When my girls were younger and I was married, I made 4 different meals sometimes…while I ate cereal. Now that they are older, I make one thing that works for everyone (my ex-husband’s new wife doesn’t cook, so he starves…lol). I still eat cereal sometimes out of habit and being a picky eater. 🙂

    I call my youngest a “granola/earthy kid” because she tends to eat salads, broccoli or some kind of soap. She’ll be the one composting and eating carrots right from the ground as an adult. What’s with the youngest kid in the family?
    Happy Monday!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Monday indeed! I hope little man is feeling better and that it’s nothing serious. Little Miss reminds me of my 2yr old when it comes to eating 😓

    Like

  4. Wow, this sounds like our house on Sunday–even the throwing up part! We have a picky eater, too, and worst of all is that he’s influencing his little brother with his attitude. I refuse to make a bunch of different meals, so if they don’t like what we’re having, they can make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. It’s a bit of a concession, but it’s one I can live with–and it makes the dinner battles a bit mellower. I’m glad to read I’m not the only one going through these daily parenting struggles! Now, I’m just hoping no one else ends up sick this week!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I have a cousin who ate nothing but macaroni and cheese for every meal until he was an adult–and he looks like a solid-muscle linebacker! I suppose my kids will be just fine in the long run–but the pickiness drives me crazy some days!

        Like

Leave a Reply

