A New Year, A New Me

This is my very first blog. I have always liked to keep journals and write down important moments in my life. I think it’s safe to say over the past 6 years I haven’t done much of any of that.

     I became a step mom when our munchkins were 18 months and 2 years old, they are now 6 and 8 years old, it’s safe to say they don’t remember a life without me a part of it. Now that’s not me tooting my own horn, it just is what it is.

      I love our little man and little princess more than anything in this world and I consider myself their mother, just like their biological mother does. We (my husband and I) co-parent with his ex-wife and her husband. It has been that way since the beginning. It hasn’t been easy and there has been many of times I felt like I was losing my mind. There wasn’t any books on being a childless stepmother. Trust me, I looked. I had no idea what I was doing, whose toes I was stepping on, what to say or do at certain points in the kids growing lives. I would get on google almost every day during their nap time and look up how to handle certain situations. Anything. Any sign of help or guidance of the topic of raising two toddlers.  My husband is an amazing father, I wouldn’t of married him if he wasn’t, but his job isn’t a 9-5  Monday through Friday so at the beginning a lot of things fell on me. I was totally okay with it, and I loved taking on the responsibility of two little lives, but I truly didn’t know what I was signing up for. Don’t get me wrong, I would never trade how my life has turned out for anything. I love our family of 4, but being a step mom is really effing hard!

        I guess I felt that maybe if I start this blog, not only will it help me become a better parent and wife, but maybe I can help another childless stepmom out there googling during the kids nap hour, looking for answers to the never ending questions of what we call Our Crazy Beautifully Blended Life.

2 thoughts on “A New Year, A New Me

  1. Welcome to blogging. Blogging has really helped me cope with being a stepmom, it’s really hard and not many people around me can relate so having this blog is really helpful. I hope it does the same for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yea, it’s maxing how different our stories are but how relatable they all are as well! I feel a lot less “alone” in this now that I have this blog, it’s only been about 6months but it’s very helpful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

